The Triple Crown was established in 2013 to honor youth sailors (skipper and crew) for achievement in winning on aggregated points in a series of designated championship races in the Club 420 sailboat throughout the course of a single year. Events which count toward this point series include the Club 420 US Nationals, Club 420 Canadian Nationals, Club 420 North Americans, the Buzzards Bay Regatta, and other significant events designated by the class. This series championship recognizes the top teams and the top individual skippers and individual crews accumulating the most points at the conclusion of these high-level competitions.

The Club 420 Association has created a point system which is used to rank sailors after each event. The qualifying team with the most accumulated points wins each annual series.